The Christmas gift of Charity – for everyone, even me!

“Perhaps the greatest charity comes when I am kind to myself, when I don’t judge or categorize myself, when I simply give myself the benefit of the doubt or remain quiet. Charity is accepting my differences, weaknesses, and shortcomings; having patience with myself when I let myself down or resisting the impulse to become offended or critical when I don’t handle something the way I might have hoped. Charity is refusing to take advantage of my weakness and being willing to forgive myself when I have done things that hurt me. Charity is expecting the best of myself and others.” – Marvin J Ashton

I love this quote. I am finding it is so much easier to love and give and forgive when I offer love and forgiveness to myself as well as others. Our work as mothers is a work of love, but when we don’t love ourselves or offer ourselves any charity or mercy, it is very hard to be the loving mothers we are meant to be.

I only have time for a quick post today, but I wanted to say to you all you dear mothers out there, Merry Christmas, and please, as you give your best gifts to those you love this season, remember to offer yourself the gift of charity as well, and trust in the Lord’s power to cover and make up for our imperfections. His gift to us is what we celebrate at Christmas, let’s accept and hold to it and rejoice in the opportunity to begin anew each day with His help. He wants joy for you and for me. Here’s to more Joyful Motherhood and peace in our hearts in the coming year!

2 thoughts on “The Christmas gift of Charity – for everyone, even me!

  1. Alysia, I completely agree. Extending the Lord’s mercy and love towards ourselves is crucial as well as taking our best efforts to do it. I do believe, though, that the Lord’s power does more than merely cover or make up for our weaknesses. His power can heal and transform us to the point where that “thing” no longer exists in us and we become His…our heart feels as His does, our mind thinks as His does, our actions are His will. This will take a millenia or more to progress towards, but the promise is there. We will become as He is.

Join the conversation! Share your thoughts here.

