Where I’ve been

It’s been a while since I wrote anything here. Here’s what I’ve been up to: I had my first speaking engagement at a homeschool conference, I’ve been training to teach a Shakespeare class to youth, and I’ve been adjusting to changes in our life as my husband has taken on the responsibilities of a Bishop (similar to a pastor) of our church congregation. It’s been a busy couple of months, full of new and rather scary things, but it has also been wonderful. I have learned a few things worth sharing.

1. I, and you, and all of us, have something worth sharing.
2. People want and need what you have to share, even if you aren’t perfect yet!
3. Whatever you share with others is strengthened in you.

I was very nervous to speak in front of a large room full of people. It is one thing to write on this blog, where I can hide behind my computer and sit in my pajamas and edit my words if they come out wrong, but speaking in public you get but one chance, and you have to worry about body language, and tone of voice, and stuttering, and, oh brother, what am I going to wear?! But my biggest stress was the nagging worry that I was being false by sharing ideas that I have only just begun to understand and that I fail to live perfectly. I wanted more time to master the principles I was sharing, so I could stand up there in confidence. But I don’t know if any amount of time would have been enough. There would still be room for improvement. I had to focus on the conviction I had that what I was sharing was true. And if it is true, it will help someone.

A wonderful friend told me right before I went up to the podium, ‘Just remember, you’re giving them a gift, something they didn’t have before.” People were grateful for what I shared, and took courage from my vulnerability and willingness to share my weakness along with my truths. It was exhilarating to feel that my words might have helped someone.

But It turned out that the someone it probably helped most was me. I have been told that the best way to strengthen a testimony is to share it. I found that as I struggled over my talk, and fine tuned and practiced and stood to deliver it, it seared the message into my mind much more powerfully than it would have if I had kept it to myself. Declaring it that way not only provided a sense of commitment for me to what I was teaching, but it taught me at a new level. Isn’t it interesting that we can learn from our own words and thoughts? Maybe that is because they are not truly, completely our own, if they are inspired. That’s another reason I love writing, because it helps me learn and understand the messages i’m given and I can go back to them later for guidance. But that’s another topic…

I expect a similar experience as I go on this journey of learning to teach Shakespeare and mentor teens (I don’t have much experience with either!) and of supporting my husband in his new responsibiliites. It won’t be perfect, but it will help perfect me and whatever I can bring will be worth doing.

I truly believe every person has something worth sharing, and we don’t have to wait until we are perfect to do it. This blog would never have been started if I waited until I lived all I share perfectly. I hope that is not a dissappointment to anyone. But it’s true. I write to remind myself what I need to know. And I share it because if it helps me, then maybe it will mean something to someone else too. It strengthens me to share, and I hope it strengthens you.

Empowering Action: Don’t wait to ‘give your gifts’ until you are perfect. Start now.

Bonus: I have an amazing friend who has devoted her message to helping ordinary people like you and me find our gifts and messages and share them for the purpose of bringing more light and truth the world and magnifying the light of Christ. If you would like to learn more and get inspired on this topic, you can visit www.lighttheworldnow.com or watch her video here: http://www.examiner.com/video/light-the-world

2 thoughts on “Where I’ve been

  1. Wow! You have been busy! I’m impressed! Wife of a bishop and big job! How exciting you got to speak on stage at a homeschool conference. I’m amazed at how far you’ve come in just a year. Teaching teens now – super!! How is your son doing? Will he be in your class?

  2. Thanks, Tresta! The past year has been amazing to me too, God has been bringing a lot of things to fruition that I never thought would come this fast or quite the way they’ve come.
    My son is planning to be in my class, though I will probably assign a co-mentor to him. We are still working on our relationship and he’s still trying to find his way. But I think the teen class will be a blessing to him and me, and he will get to have some new experiences with other mentors and peers and challenges. I am hopeful that it will help him find his ‘spark’ and that I’ll learn things by mentoring the class that will also help me in my parenting.

Join the conversation! Share your thoughts here.

