The details of daily life

“The true secret of happiness lies in taking a genuine interest in all the details of daily life.”
William Morris

I think sometimes this is the great challenge of motherhood.  Most of our time is spent attending to seemingly small daily details, and sometimes it can be easy to lose interest.  It’s not that we don’t care, but we lose sight of why we are doing what we are doing and what we are working toward.

When I get into a funk and can’t seem to get myself motivated, I find that focusing on the reasons, and what I am working toward, makes all the difference.  If I have a ready answer for myself as to why I am getting up each morning, why to keep trying to teach my children even when it seems like it takes forever for my lessons to sink in, why to keep chipping away at the things I am trying to create, why to persevere and be consistent even when I’m tired, why what I am doing matters, then I have interest, and I have passion, and I have a purpose to focus on that carries me forward.

Empowering action:  Consider the question – What is your why?  How can you stay interested, inspired  and motivated and focus on the big picture of what you are creating with each of the small acts and details of life?

 

 

Join the conversation! Share your thoughts here.

